A Name for Longing

I wanted for you to see me,

Waited with patience diluted,

A stranger’s desperate breath 

Lingering in my lungs, mingling

With the smoke of too many cigarettes.

But then you did see me.

I felt it.

Then, I felt 

Afraid. Ridiculous. Insufficient. 

The voices of the ghosts that haunt

This house of bones and memory.  

How on earth did I think I had 

Anything to offer, any strength 

To spare? Doubt, it seems,

Comes on black wings, once friendly.

One thought on “A Name for Longing

Leave a Reply

