Who Owns the Deep?

I have no great love.

Shall I invent them,

Give breath and life,

Bad habits and flaws

To a phantom?

My life is calm,

Only the motion of

Great currents stirs

The depths beyond

The sight of the world.

I do not have it in me now,

To fabricate a passion

Pin it to some unsuspecting

Human, who moves within

Another sphere, another planet.

I must learn a new way.

To move within the silent depths

Focus on the force of my life

And the needs of my own soul.

I must learn not to hunger

For the spark of light on waves

Or the rise of land like a sudden breath.

Leave a Reply

