Lazy Lasagna: For Times When Lasagna Is Just Too Much Work

At the suggestion of one of my Twitter friends, @gcharlesxoxo, I’m sharing my “recipe” for Lazy Lasagna. Although, as you’ll see, it’s so lazy, it doesn’t have much of one, at that.

This was born from my deep affection for lasagna, and my profound aversion to all the steps traditional lasagna requires–which I usually end up flubbing, somehow. It can have any number of variants you choose and produce a different dish each time. Or you can stick to your favorites for a consistent result. It’s up to you.

I favor spinach, olives, and from my garden, I’ve been using bell peppers and tiny yellow tomatoes, which are sweet and flavorful. While I use bagged, frozen meat and cheese raviolis to mimic the contents of traditional lasagna, you should go with what sounds good to you. You can make a large pan or a smaller, personalized dish–just adjust the amounts of your ingredients to suit your baking dish size.

Ingredients:

Frozen ravioli of your choice.
Veggies of your choice. (slice things like peppers thinly for even cooking.)
Shredded mozzarella, at least 8 oz for a 13×9 dish
1 jar of pasta sauce

Preparation

Par cook your ravioli (3 min~)

In a baking dish, spread a bit of sauce on the bottom to prevent sticking.

Place your veggies in the dish and toss with a bit of sauce to coat; add some mozzarella, too, for melted cheese throughout.

Drain your ravioli well, and add to the dish with your saucy vegetables.

Toss everything gently with the remainder of your sauce and generously sprinkle the top with mozzarella.

Bake in a 400 degree oven for 25-30 minutes, or until the top is browned to your satisfaction.

Remove and let stand for at least five minutes.

For a super-solid presentation (fresh it’s a bit wet from all the veggies) bake ahead of time and store in the refrigerator. Reheat covered tightly with foil 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

Makes the best leftovers ever, if it lasts that long.

I hope you enjoy making and eating this flexible, easy dish as the weather turns chilly. It’s sustaining and delicious. Thank Grace Charles on Twitter, for suggesting that I share with everyone.
image

10 thoughts on “Lazy Lasagna: For Times When Lasagna Is Just Too Much Work

  1. Duh

    I think that’s a great recipe title Duh Lasagna. I’m trying to think quick style to make chicken enchiladas because those are as time consuming as lasagna. Hmmm, corn raviolis? That’s a tamale but tamales are too much…polenta….

    1. I do an enchilada/burrito bake, too. It follows the same convenience logic as the lazy lasagna. I use frozen enchiladas/burritos. Prepare rice mixed with beans, a jar of salsa or if you do as I did out west, some pico you make en masse and keep in the fridge for the week), peppers/onions/whatever, cover with cheese, and bake as per enchilada instructions. Super lazy, delicious, and infinitely adjustable.

      1. Oh…I was stuck on corn tortillas. These meals make me think of people in a damn hurry to cook. They’re running into the house, and into the kitchen, skidding in front of the fridge to grab all of the ingredients at once. With no time to even take off their coat, they plop everything on the counter and get dinner in the oven in minutes.

      2. Lol. I look at any idea that saves effort in prep/cleanup as time saving. The bakes and casseroles I do are made up, no real recipes of which to speak and I do them because I’m lazy even while I hate convenience food of the hamburger helper/meal in a box variety.

      3. Chicken breasts or whatever, skin side up on a bed of onion, carrot, celery (like stock soup ingredients) sprinkled with herbs, fresh or not, poultry seasoning, garlic – fresh or not in a 9×13 pan sealed well with foil. Bake at 400 for an hour then turn down to 325 for 3 hours never breaking the seal and you get the tenderest basic chicken to eat over the stove lol as is or however you want. Don’t add potatoes because they suck out all the moisture and the chicken will be dry. I add a 1/4 cup of water and if you want to get all heart healthy, you can blend the vegetables and broth as is into a gravy. Carrots make it sweet so I stay away from that to keep it more savory. This dish takes minutes to put in the pan and then 4 hours of down time. It’s SO easy.

  2. I could live off lasagna. But maybe that’s because I only eat it about once a year. When I make it. And the limiting factor, I suppose, has been the HUGE time and effort when made the traditional old fashioned way. I usually make a very large batch in two deep long pans. So, yea, we have leftovers for a while. I get my fill, and so does everyone else. And then it takes me about a year to tackle it again. This recipe does look easy. I may try it. And jeez, if it tastes as good as that pic looks…

    1. Ha! I know exactly what you mean about time and effort. Make no mistake, this does require some assembly. However, you can make it as complex or simple as you wish based on the ingredients–grilled chicken and sundried tomatoes with peppers, olives, and onions topped with slices of fresh mozzarella and basil from my garden is my favorite fancy combo. At the other end of the spectrum is the premade beef and cheese-stuffed frozen ravioli with a bag of shredded mozzarella and a jar of sauce.

Leave a Reply

