Publication News: Tomorrow Is the Day

So, it’s after midnight on the 29th.  There are about 36 hours between me and the release of my first big project, No One Has Such a Dog, and No One Should.  And I find, other than being a bit jittery and distracted, excitement is what I feel most about this book launch.  Sure, I know plenty of writers who have traditional publishers and agents, who print lots of books and have worked very hard to achieve their current level of success.  I don’t have any of those things, and at this point, knowing that doesn’t dim my sense of achievement a bit.  I did this.  All by myself.

If  my announcements have at times seemed a bit heavy–have irritated you on Facebook or Twitter–just think about that.  A few months ago, I knew nothing about publishing, promotion or networking, so it’s a learning curve, and I’m still working on it. Aside from the generous support I received from several dear friends, there was no one out there beating the bounds for me.   I’m going to hold onto that.  It’s not about gloating, which I’d like to avoid.  Rather, it’s about the fact that I made something precious, and I’m preparing to put it out there.  photo 3-2I think that’s worthy of cherishing for a minute.  Perhaps I’ll feel like this every time I publish something.

In a way, I hope so.  It’s part of another, more personal, learning curve for me.  As with my writing, so with my Self–value should be appraised as honestly as critique.  Thanks so much to all of you who’ve lent your support, your positive energy, and your constructive commentary.  I hope you’re as excited about doggies as I am, and that you’ll enjoy the book.  Now, to attempt sleep….or spontaneously sing and dance…

2 thoughts on “Publication News: Tomorrow Is the Day

Leave a Reply

