The Scariest Moment: A Huge Thank You to Y’all.

Hello, WordPress Friends.  I wanted to take a moment to reflect on my recent–and I do mean recent–experience. I am doing an enforced happy dance to counteract my tendency to downplay any accomplishments.  Pardon me if I seem to crow a little loudly over simple self publication, but it was something I was actually afraid to do.  I was worried it would be harder than I could manage or some unexpected trial would result from even trying.  Yes, I suffer from that tiresome habit of not believing in myself.  But I believe Stephen King has the right of it in his book On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft

“The scariest moment is always just before you start.”

Here’s where you all come in.  I couldn’t have done it without you.  If you’re asking what hand you played in me publishing my own work, well, without this blog there never would have been the thought that I could do such a thing.  Each of your comments, your moments of feedback, and your very presence in my virtual life has encouraged me to have confidence in myself.  So, thank you to every single person who makes the time to visit me here, to comment, and to share.  And also, thank you each for sharing with me the moments that make your life meaningful, funny, sad, or even erotic.  I have enjoyed each entry–from flowers, puppies, students, and family to the erotic and platonic relationship stories–you’ve shared.  I value them as I do you.

The City Beyond the Ninth Wave

 

12 thoughts on “The Scariest Moment: A Huge Thank You to Y’all.

  1. For you who conquered a fear into submission and publication – Boisterous Salutations!!!! I first typed “Hooray” but I had to come up with something a kindergartner wouldn’t say. I guess I need a kindle now. : ) Congratulations!

    1. You are a gem, Mistress Jayne. You should know that you are one of my dearest corespondents here. I treasure our exchanges, and have grown through them. (However, I think “Hooray” would match my shameless giddy-dancing, which looks like nothing so much as the Hokey Pokey.)

      As to saddling yourself with a kindle, don’t do that on my account! I am warmed by your support.

      1. You’ see me as greater than I ever will. Thank you because that’s a great feeling. I first thought that if you were fearful of writing something…then we humans just have a gene that creates fear OR you have expectations of yourself that are higher than Mt. Everest. I admire your thorough intelligence on a variety of subjects and how your words set my mind’s sights on greater “places” with your flawless style.
        Also, I understand your feelings of *doing* something. I just might be a boarder at that MotorLodge. I hear the destinations being reached through the open window as I sleep. We’re just thinking faster than the world travels. (yeah, I like that excuse). xo, J

      2. I think the fear is tied to something I talked about in an earlier entry. I have three advanced degrees and felt no real pride in receiving them…writing is much the same. Mt. Everest is about right, but I think, if I can push through and work myself hard to improve in the Craft, I’ll be alright on K2. 😉

        We can reinvent the term Fellow Travelers, with a better and brighter definition.

      3. Yes…and there’s no real need to risk life and limb to become a damn example. That reminds me of those 1950 female illustrations with funny quotes. This one in particular: “If I can’t be a good example, I’ll just have to be a horrible warning.” I’m reading The Valkyries by Ron Coelho. There is something to be said for people who don’t fall into life’s routines that can lull us away from our “dreams” of how the world ( we) can be. My guess is that you fall into that category because you didn’t stop believing and when you really think about that, it’s quite powerful.

    2. p.s. I sold three copies of City today, and you’d think I’d won the lottery. It’s totally not about sales–certainly, I don’t expect many–but that I’ve been so long away from feeling like I was *doing* something.

  2. First, I want to congratulate you for pushing through any doubts you had. Secondly, and this is cool to say, I am proud of you. First a very confident post the other day with a stunning new picture and now this. My old soul can’t handle so much excitement over the week. Seriously Erin, well done!

    1. Thank you! Hold on to your hair, then, dear. I’m sitting on a compilation of erotic poetry–both what’s posted on the blog and some stuff that’s never seen the light of the computer screen. I’m waiting to put it out, mostly because I don’t want to crowd myself.

Leave a Reply

