Cat and Cat: Use-Words Are Things With Many Edges

hqdefault

She looked up and cleared her throat. “It says here,” she hefted her tablet for emphasis. “That ‘bae’ means ‘poop’ in Danish.”

I glanced up from the book I was reading and managed to keep a bland expression in place. “That’s correct.” I swallowed a giggle.

“So, let me see if I understand this.” Her eyes narrowed in mock concentration.  “All this time you’ve been calling me ‘bae’ you’ve really been calling me ‘shit?'” Her eyes slid from the middle distance of inquiry to meet mine with a rather liquid, poisonous ease.

I decided to take the Shatner defense.  Only ridiculous overacting could save me now.  “Curses! Foiled again!” I shook a clenched fist in the air.  She remained unimpressed, curled and still in the corner of the couch.  “Danish shit, to be sure.” I giggled helplessly, accepting my fate of a painful death.

Leave a Reply

