Teaching…It’s Not For Sissies.

For all the teachers in my life. You are superheroes…and also, you should have told me to fuck off and shut up more than a few times. I am in awe of your fortitude.

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

45tXMR0As I start my 16th year teaching special education, I’ve had the pleasure of spending much of the last couple of weeks with some new teachers, who are just starting out in their careers, and it’s made me reflect on what I believe, who I am, and what the REAL lessons are in education.  

1. You know how you’ve been able to go around just calling people “motherfucker” and flipping them off, when they’ve been shitty to you?  Yeah, well, you can’t do that anymore from 7am-4pm.  The irony is that you are going to be disrespected more in the next ten months, than you have in your ENTIRE life, and you’re going to have to respond to it with a quiet dignity that you didn’t know you possessed.  And yes, as long as it doesn’t come out of your mouth…mentally calling an eight-year-old a ‘dickhead’ is perfectly acceptable.

2. I…

View original post 710 more words

2 thoughts on “Teaching…It’s Not For Sissies.

Leave a Reply

